Print

MSBA Staff Directory

MSBA Staff Directory (Updated October 2013)
The Executive Director, Deputy Executive Director and staff oversee the operations of the association and carry out the policy of the MSBA Board of Directors.
To contact a staff member please call 573-445-9920 or 800-221-MSBA (6722) followed by the extension when prompted.


Executive Director

Dr. Ward

Dr. Carter Ward
ward@msbanet.org 
Ext 333

Dr. Carter D. Ward is executive director of the Missouri School Boards' Association and has served in that capacity since 1983. Ward is also the Chairman of the Board of MSBA's educational foundation, FutureBuilders, and has served in that capacity since 1995.
In 2007 Dr. Ward received the National School Boards Association Thomas A. Shannon Award for Excellence in School Boards Association Leadership, and in 2008 Central Methodist University conferred on Dr. Ward the Distinguished Alumni Award for Outstanding Professional Accomplishments.
Ward earned his Doctorate in General School Administration and Statistics from the University of Missouri-Columbia. He holds undergraduate degrees from Central Methodist University and the University of Central Missouri. He has also been a mathematics teacher and administrator in secondary schools in Missouri.


Julene Thornhill

Administrative Specialist
Julene Thornhill
Thornhill@msbanet.org
Ext 333

Julene Thornhill is the administrative specialist for MSBA’s Executive Director and acts as the staff liaison for the MSBA Board of Directors. Julene has served MSBA since 1997.


Deputy Executive Director/General Counsel

Melissa Randol

Melissa Randol, Esq.
randol@msbanet.org
Ext 340

Melissa Randol is responsible for supervising MSBA’s internal operations which includes human resources, financial practices and legal matters. She also serves as the Chief Executive Officer of the MSBA FutureBuilders Foundation. Melissa earned her Bachelor of Science from Missouri State University in Economics and Accounting and her Juris Doctor from the University of Missouri-Columbia. She has served MSBA since 1994.


Administration

Todd Smith

Chief Financial Officer
Todd Smith
smith@msbanet.org
Ext 310

Todd Smith has managed the association's fiscal resources, accounting and general business operations since 2008. Todd graduated from the University of Northern Iowa with a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration.


Pam Thomas

Director, Financial Affairs
Pam Thomas
thomas@msbanet.org
Ext 307

Pamela Thomas has served MSBA since 1986 and manages the association’s human resources and finances operations.


Betty Rupard

Production Coordinator
Betty Rupard
rupard@msbanet.org
Ext 325/378

Betty Rupard oversees and carries out production for the association’s copy center and mailroom and orders all supplies for that area. She has served MSBA since 1984.


Leadership Development


Phyllis Barks

Associate Executive Director, Leadership Development
Phyllis Barks
barks@msbanet.org
Ext 342

Phyllis Barks coordinates the Certified Board Member (CBM) certification program, facilitates whole board workshops and retreats, and coordinates the Outstanding Boards of Education program. She obtained a Master of Education in Counseling Psychology from the University of Missouri-Columbia and a Bachelor of Science in Education of the Exceptional Child from Southeast Missouri State University. She has served MSBA since 2008.


Director, Board Development
Janet Tilley
tilley@msbanet.org
Ext 379

Janet Tilley has a Masters in Curriculum and Instruction and worked with the Kansas City Public Schools implementing professional development services. Janet joined MSBA in 2013 and is responsible for providing education and training to public school board members which includes the CBM essential training for new board members.


Director of Continuous Improvement
Dr. Patty Polster
polster@msbanet.org
Ext 315

Patty Polster holds a Ph.D. in Educational Leadership. Patty joined MSBA in 2013 and is focused on the implementation of Baldridge/continuous improvement initiatives.


Debbie Duermeyer

Administrative Assistant
Debby Duermeyer
duermeyer@msbanet.org
Ext 329

Debby Duermeyer assists with coordinating the Certified Board Member (CBM) certification program and other board development workshops. She attended Pierce School of Interior Design-Kansas City, Missouri and joined MSBA in 2011.


Board Services

Hopkins

Associate Executive Director
Kelli Hopkins, Esq.
hopkins@msbanet.org
Ext 345

Kelli Hopkins oversees the legal, policy and labor relations departments and works as an attorney and trainer. Kelli received a Bachelor of Science in Speech Theatre Education from Missouri Southern State University, Master of Science in Educational Administration from Missouri State University and Juris Doctor from the University of Missouri-Columbia Law School. She has served MSBA since 2001.


Susan Goldammer

Senior Director, Employment and Labor Relations
Susan Goldammer, Esq.
goldammer@msbanet.org
Ext 355

Susan Goldammer trains and advises member districts on law, policy, and labor relations. She received a Bachelor of Arts in English from Truman State University and Juris Doctor from Indiana University School of Law, Bloomington. Susan served as a clerk for the Honorable William Ray Price, Jr., on the Missouri Supreme Court and has authored many publications. She has served MSBA since 1999.


Scott Summers

Staff Attorney
Scott Summers
summers@msbanet.org
Ext 316

Scott Summers provides general legal services for member districts. He received a Bachelor of Arts in English, a Master of Science in Education Administration from Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville, and Juris Doctor from the University of Missouri-Columbia School of Law. He joined MSBA in 2011.


Atwood

Coordinator, Full Maintenance
Kathleen Atwood
atwood@msbanet.org
Ext 346

Kathleen Atwood coordinates Full Maintenance work of the policy department and serves as a Full Maintenance editor. Kathleen attended Penn Valley Community College-Kansas City and the University of Missouri-Kansas City and has served MSBA since 1991.


Shannon Beckner

Coordinator, Policy Publications
Shannon Beckner
beckner@msbanet.org
Ext 368

Shannon L. Beckner coordinates publications of the policy department, including policy updates and graduated from Illinois State University with a Bachelor of Arts in English. She has served MSBA since 2000.


Kay Marchesi

Senior Editor, Full Maintenance
Kay Marchesi
marchesi@msbanet.org
Ext 323

Kay Marchesi provides policy support for school districts on the Full Maintenance program and has served MSBA since 1994.


Evelyn Kinkade

Editor, Education Policy
Evelyn Kinkade
kinkade@msbanet.org
Ext 330

Evelyn Kinkade provides policy support for member districts and editing for publications and projects. She received a Bachelor of Arts from Central Methodist University and has served MSBA since 2002.


Kathy Fox

Editor, Full Maintenance
Kathy Fox
fox@msbanet.org
Ext 324

Kathy Fox provides policy support for Full Maintenance districts and edits other publications for MSBA. She received a Bachelor of Arts in English and Creative Writing from the University of Colorado-Boulder and has served MSBA since 2008.


Derek Carls

Editor, Full Maintenance
Derek Carls
carls@msbanet.org
Ext 337

Derek Carls provides policy support for school districts on the Full Maintenance program. Derek attended Truman State University and received a Bachelor of Arts in Communication. He joined MSBA in 2013.


Ted Farnen

Editor, Full Maintenance
Ted Farnen
farnen@msbanet.org
Ext 338

Ted Farnen provides policy support for school districts on the Full Maintenance program. Ted graduated from the University of Missouri Columbia with a Bachelor of Journalism. He has served MSBA since 2013.


Matt O’Brien

Editor, Basic and Policy Online
Matt O’Brien
obrien@msbanet.org
Ext 347

Matt O'Brien edits and maintains districts participating in Policy Online. He received a Bachelor of Arts in English from Truman State University and has served MSBA since 2003.


Sherry Dyke

Administrative Assistant
Sherry Dyke
dyke@msbanet.org
Ext 312

Sherry Dyke provides support to law, policy and labor relations as needed. She earned an Associate of Arts in Business from Moberly Area Community College and has served MSBA since 2001.


Center for Education Safety

Paul Fennewald

Director
Paul Fennewald
fennewald@msbanet.org
Ext 421

Paul H. Fennewald began serving as the Director of the Center for Educational Safety for the Missouri School Boards’ Association in 2012. He has a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice from Drury University and has served as Missouri’s Homeland Security Coordinator and as a Special Agent with the Federal Bureau of Investigation.


Missouri Department of Public Safety
Gary Moore
moore@moces.org
Ext 415


Communications

Brent Ghan

Chief Communications Officer
Brent Ghan
ghan@msbanet.org
Ext 376

Brent Ghan oversees marketing and communications including publications, website, video production and media relations. Brent received a Bachelor of Journalism and a Master of Public Affairs from the University of Missouri-Columbia. Brent received the Distinguished Service Award from the Missouri School Public Relations Association in 2013.

He has served MSBA since 1987.


Blake Godwin

Senior Director, Video Production
Blake Godwin
godwin@msbanet.org
Ext 366

Blake Godwin produces, directs and edits video and media productions for MSBA and outside clients. Blake received a Bachelor of Arts in Communications-Radio/TV/Film from the University of Missouri-Columbia and has served MSBA since 1989.


Eileen Woody

Director, Central Database
Eileen Woody
woody@msbanet.org
Ext 318

Eileen Woody directs operations of the association’s management database and additional data needs as related to operations, communications, events and exhibits. She studied vocational curriculum and administration at the University of Missouri-Columbia and has served MSBA since 1999.


Jade Govero

Director, Strategic Communications
Jade Govero
govero@msbanet.org
Ext 360

Jade Govero is a strategic and discerning designer who creates marketing materials and e-communications. She is a graduate of Purdue University-West Lafayette, IN with a Bachelor of Arts in Visual Communications Design and joined MSBA in 2011.


Brett Manie

Director, Video Production
Brett Manie
manie@msbanet.org
Ext 305

Brett Manie supports all aspects of creating, supporting and distributing MSBA video productions. Brett graduated from the University of Missouri-Columbia with a Bachelor of Arts in Communication/Television and Radio. Brett has served MSBA since 2006.


Conference, Events and Registration

Kelly Francis

Senior Director, Conferences & Events
Kelly Francis
francis@msbanet.org
Ext 319

Kelly Francis is responsible for developing, organizing and managing all of the association’s conferences and events. She received a Bachelor of Science from Missouri State University and has served MSBA since 2005.


Jaime Fessler

Manager, Conferences & Events
Jaime Fessler
fessler@msbanet.org
Ext 303

Jaime Fessler is responsible for event planning activities and registration. She studied Business Administration at Columbia College and the University of Missouri-Columbia and has served MSBA since 2007.


Governmental Relations

200 Madison St., Ste. 320
Jefferson City, MO 65101

 

Deputy Executive Director & General Counsel
Melissa Randol
Contact Susan Hatfield, hatfield@msbanet.org
Ext 304


Associate Executive Director, Advocacy
Mike Reid
reid@msbanet.org
Ext 410

Michael C. Reid lobbies the Missouri General Assembly and other branches of state government on behalf of the association. Michael also works with districts to organize grass roots lobbying and has served MSBA since 2006. He received a Bachelor of Science in history from Westminster College and received a Juris Doctor from the University of Missouri-Columbia.


Beth Varner

Administrative Specialist, Advocacy
Beth Stocksick
stocksick@msbanet.org
Ext 411

Beth Stocksick manages the Advocacy office in Jefferson City and acts as Missouri School Nutrition Association Executive Secretary. She received an Associate in Business Administration from Columbia College. After previously being employed by MSBA from 2003 to 2007, she returned in 2012.


Medicaid Consortium

Dr. Kim Ratcliffe

Associate Executive Director
Dr. Kim Ratcliffe
ratcliffe@msbanet.org
Ext 362

Kim Ratcliffe provides leadership and advocacy for public schools relative to the MSBA Medicaid Consortium and regular and special education, including chairing the MSBA Special Education Advocacy Council (SEAC). She received a Doctorate of Education from the University of Missouri-Columbia and was the recipient of Missouri LINC Distinguished Service Award; Outstanding Special Education Administrator, Missouri Speech-Language Hearing Association; Donald K. Anderson Graduate Teaching Award; Missouri Council of Administrators of Special Education (MO-CASE) Special Recognition Award; MO-CASE Distinguished Service Award. She has served MSBA since 2003.


Collin Swearingen

Senior Director
Collin Swearingen
swearingen@msbanet.org
Ext 340

Collin Swearingen provides technical expertise and support to MSBA Medicaid Consortium districts in the areas of School District Administrative Claiming (SDAC), Direct Services, and Non-Emergency Medical Transportation (NEMT). He received a Bachelor of Arts in Business Administration from Graceland University. He has served MSBA since 2008.


Brenda Wright

Director
Brenda Wright
wright@msbanet.org
Ext 327

Brenda Wright assists school districts with the SDAC program and submitting reports necessary to participate in the program. She worked with the Department of Social Services for 30 years, including regional supervision of programs and other public assistance programs. She graduated from Southwest Baptist University with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology and joined MSBA in 2008.


Darcy Frazee

Financial Specialist
Darcy Frazee
frazee@msbanet.org
Ext 354

Darcy Frazee provides technical expertise and support to MSBA Medicaid Consortium districts in all aspects of financial reporting and claim adjustments. She received a Bachelor and Master of Business Administration from Western Illinois University. She joined MSBA in 2010.


Lisa Helm

Director
Lisa Helm
helm@msbanet.org
Ext 321

Lisa Helm assists school districts with the implementation of the MO HealthNet Direct Services claiming program. She has a Bachelor of Science from William Woods University and a Master of Arts from Truman State University. Lisa has served in public schools in the area of special education for more than 25 years before joining MSBA in 2009.


Colleen Mahon

Administrative Assistant
Colleen Mahon
mahon@msbanet.org
Ext 340

Colleen Mahon provides administrative support for the MSBA Medicaid Consortium. She received an Associate of Arts in Hospitality Management from Forest Park Community College-St. Louis and a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Maryville University-St. Louis. She has served MSBA since 2008.


Member Relations

Michael Parnell

Associate Executive Director, Member Relations
Michael Parnell
parnell@msbanet.org
Ext 331

Mike Parnell provides leadership regarding REC/RAC communication and support, superintendent search and field service administration. He also responds to inquiries from districts interested in membership. He received a BSE and MA from Northeast Missouri State University and earned his Education Specialist from Northwest Missouri State University. He has served on the board of directors for the National Association of Secondary School Principals and has served MSBA since 2009.


Jeanie Rhoades

Director, Online Learning
Jeanie Rhoades
rhoades@msbanet.org
Ext 308

Jeanie Rhoades provides Superintendent search support for Missouri districts. She has served MSBA since 1989.


Technology

Michael Grissom

Chief Technology Officer
Michael Grissom
grissom@msbanet.org
Ext 353

Michael Grissom manages the IT systems for the association and membership. Michael graduated from Webster University, M.A.T. in Computer Resources, University of Missouri, B.S.Ed. in Secondary English and joined MSBA in 2011.


Bob Mantlo

Director, Information Technology
Bob Mantlo
mantlo@msbanet.org
Ext 349

Bob Mantlo provides IT management and web support for the association and its affiliates. Bob attended the University of Central Missouri and DeVry University. He has served MSBA since 2000.


Superintendent Search

 

SuptSearch@msbanet.org